Change, Resistance and Chaos

I have always believed that it is not just about technology but that people and processes are important too. I have been interested in areas like mind mapping, Myers Briggs, and business tools and training. So it was with some surprise, but delight, that I came across the Sati Change Model. Surprise as it seems to have been around for a long time and I have not come across it before. Delight as it seems to capture the essence of change as it pertains to upgrading software.

A good overviews is provided at http://www.stevenmsmith.com/my-articles/article/the-satir-change-model.html.

The picture tells the story well.

 Satir Change Model

In this case the status quo is MOM 2005 and the foreign element is the launch of System Center Operations Manager 2007 at the end of March. You will always get resistance –
“We should wait for SP1.”
“There are no compelling features for us.”
“We can not make a business case.”
“There is no training.”
“If it ain’t broke don’t fix it.”

Similarly there will be people, like the TAP customers, who see a benefit and get started – even when it is a beta product.

I think the chaos is interesting as I seem to be in that phase. I know MOM 2005 really well and even though I have been working with 2007 since Beta 2 I still feel lost in the product in some areas. And that is a feeling shared with a number of people I have talked to. It is partly due to the product being written as a DSI (Dynamic Systems Initiative) product using SDM (Service Definition Model) at its core. That makes it harder to translate all the knowledge gained from 2005 to 2007. As the article says expect your performance to plummet during this stage.

I am waiting for the Transforming Idea. My expectation is that this will be the production of quality documentation and webcasts along with SP1 (or at least some key fixes). A good authoring console would be helpful as well. But as more people use it and put their knowledge into the community via blogs, newsgroups, community sites or books then it increases the knowledge and productivity of the individual or group and leads to integration where it becomes easy to do certain things that were unknown before. And then we may get to the new status quo which is higher than 2005 and delivers on the promises of 2007.

2 Comments

  1. Ian,

    Great find! So very rare anymore to encounter such truly thought-provoking material in our circle.

    My staff and I are currently in the throws of ITIL certification, and ITIL processes are something we incorporate into service delivery to our customers is very much a disconcerting experience for some….it often hurts a bit at first, I think in large partt due to the resistance to change. It’s always a goal to incorporate ITIL into an environment in a pragmatic fashion, capitalizing on the strengths of the organizations staff and corporate culture…..but it’s never perfect.

    Anyway, I’ll put a post together on the plane to FL in response to this. We need to start a dialogue delving into the place of System Center components in ITIL adoption – and how to minimize #3 above.

    Geat stuff, keep it coming!

Trackbacks

  1. Change In Business at James Kahn’s blog
