MOM 2005, SQL 2005 and IE Proxy

It’s been a bit quiet here as I have been working on a MOM 2005 project so most of the stuff that I am coming across has already been blogged about. It is nice to be working with 2005 even though it is frustrating sometimes knowing that what is incredibly difficult to pull off (excluding a single drive on a single server from space monitoring) in 2005 is easy in 2007. Still MOM 2005 does a good job and I like it.

There is one new thing that I have found though. In MOM 2005 installing reporting was always the hardest bit and made harder with SQL 2005. There are plenty of links with all the issues and I thought that I knew them all but I was wrong. I tried to install reporting using all the tricks and workarounds but it still would not install. Even when using my custom batch file which always works as it controls all the parameters!

The problem was that IE had the proxy setting on. In this organization IE had to go through a proxy and I had set this up as I was working on the server and needed to look up some pages. Lazy – instead of using my laptop. Anyway this blocked reporting being installed. In the msi install log file the error pointed to SSL but that was not on. I went on a search and noticed that I was getting this as well in the event log.

.NET Runtime Optimization Service (clr_optimization_v2.0.50727_32) – Failed to compile: Microsoft.ReportingServices.QueryDesigners, Version=9.0.242.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=89845dcd8080cc91 . Error code = 0x80070002

Searching for the above error there was a thread in MSDN forum that mentions proxy servers.

http://forums.microsoft.com/MSDN/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=98331&SiteID=1

As a hunch I removed the proxy setting from IE and run the batch file again and this time it was successful. There is no KB articles on this or other posts that I have come across. I did not try to replicate it as I had lost enough time on this one but if you try and install reporting and it does not work it is worth checking to ensure that proxy is not set on IE.

Comments are closed.

