Hotfix KB951979

A few blogs have mentioned an upcoming hotfix including Clive Eastwood.

https://blogs.technet.com/cliveeastwood/archive/2008/06/10/new-kb951979-sp1-hotfix-problems-occur-on-a-management-server-that-is-running-system-center-operations-manager-2007-service-pack-1-when-certain-management-packs-are-installed.aspx

He says

Problems occur on a management server that is running System Center Operations Manager 2007 Service Pack 1 when certain management packs are installed. These management packs will not be posted on the Management pack catalog and are only available as a hotfix at this time.

As I am seeing a couple of these problems I followed the link and requested the hotfix. One of the fields to fill in was the product so I put in Operations Manager 2007 SP1.

Here is the reply I received from Microsoft Product Support.

The hotfix described in KB article 951979 is included in System Center Operations Manager 2007 Service Pack 1.

As you already have Service Pack 1, I recommend contacting Microsoft Support Professional.

As I am running SP1 and seeing these problems and the hotfix was just released on June 9th then it seems unlikely. And between some support person who does not have the decency to put their name in the e-mail and Clive Eastwood who is a PM and I have known him for years I am going to trust Clive on this one.

Definitely a bit more training needed for the mystery person in Microsoft Support.

2 Comments

  1. J. Grizzard

    I got the same when I requested it, even though the now-published KB article explicitly lists SP1 in the prerequisites section.

    I replied back to the email I got with a rough equivilent of “uh, no” and had the patch in my mailbox within a couple of hours.

  2. SJB

    the nameless support dude is wrong. we grabbed the hotfix from premier support web site, and it seems to have fixed the issues without introducing any new ones.

