Disk Extravaganza

Having posted about the hard disk free space report a few days ago there are a large number of posts recently concerning hard disk monitoring. Hard disk monitoring is one of those givens that all organisations expect from a monitoring solution.

Setting The Thresholds

One area that causes confusion is the double threshold that the disk space monitor uses. Both figures have to be breached to create an alert.

Warning Critical
% MB % MB
System 10 200 5 100
Non System 10 1024 5 2048

Having talked to a few customers I have found the best way to discuss it is to use the spreadsheet created by Jonathan Almquist. This allows you to put in figures for typical hard disks and see when the threshold will be breached and whether it was MB or % that did it. Pump in some larger figures (as suggested by Anders) and the threshold changes to the other etc. It is a great visual tool to use with customers. It is a good article that explains the monitor really well.

image

Hard Disk Script Alert

Scott Moss at MyITForum updated his MOM 2005 script last July and turned it into an MP. There was a need for this type of script in 2005 and I used part of Scott’s along with Geeky Girls to create my own 2005 disk space script. He has redone his MOM 2005 script to ignore the MB threshold and added the ability to set a threshold on an individual disk using a percentage value using the DiskThreshold.MOM file, or disable alerting all together on a per disk basis using the NoDiskAlerts.MOM file. I find that with the 2007 monitor I have not needed to run a custom script. Understanding the double threshold makes it easy to customise and the fact that you can now create overrides for individual disks is useful and something that was not possible in MOM 2005. I suppose if you need to give other people the rights to make those changes then having the 2 files on the servers that they can change is a good idea. But I am happy with the default monitor.

Getting the Hard Disk Free Space Info

Here is a script to extract the percentage free disk space on all servers in a SCOM environment, and email it to an administrator. From Electric Bunnies (aka Geeky Girl aka Vanessa). I have not tested this one.

I was talking to Stefan Stranger at the MMS and he has a SQL query which returns all the disk space for the servers regardless of the OS rather than running a report per OS.

Results from Stephans query

Run the query against the DW database in SQL Management Studio. Change the dates to dates that you want the info on. You can click the top corner of the table like a spreadsheet and copy and paste the info to a spreadsheet for further work.

Query in doc text file – SQL Query for Disk Space

Updated Disk Space Report

And Zeimbor (Ziemek Borowski) has posted a new version of his disk space report which looks a lot better that the “proof of concept” one that he originally did. He provides the MP as a .MP and .XML.

image

He also provides the SQL query and has redone the zip file which seem to cause a lot of problems for other people. And the MP can be downloaded with the zip file which contains the XML file. It shows up as a directory called Board in the reports. I don’t know why but if you use the XML file you can change that. I like the way you can put in a figure for free space like 20 and all server hard disks with less that 20% free will show up as a red graph bar on the right. It is a really great report now and highly recommended. My big disappointment (and others from the correspondence I have received on this subject) is why didn’t Microsoft do a report like that out of the box.

I did find an issue with it (well not really with the report) as System Center DPM creates a large number of mounted disks with very long names which throws the report a bit. Exporting it as a PDF is a nightmare but I found that exporting it to Excel tames that column and still shows all the nice info in the report.

I have tried Ziemek’s report on R2 and it works on that as well. Good news.

Zeimbor R2 Demo small

11 Comments

  1. Doug

    For some reason, Ziemek’s MP was causing my SCOM console (running on Vista) to crash. It would crash as soon as I clicked on the “Basic counters from DW database” report. By that I don’t mean even launching the report, but simply clicking on it to show the report details at the bottom.

    While Vista claimed it was my Acer card reader (not!) causing the trouble, launching the debugger gave this error:
    System.Xml.XmlException was unhandled
    Message: The ‘br’ start tag on line 1 does not match the end tag of ‘maml:para’. Line 1, position 625.

    There’s only one “br” tag in the SystemCenter.Board.xml file, on line 2426. I removed the BR tag, re-imported the XML into SCOM, and it seems fine.

  2. Thanks Doug. I had the same issue with that report (on an XP workstation with the same resolution about Acer!) but as the notes said to ignore the report I did not bother with it. Nice to know that there is a fix.

    Thanks.

    Ian

  3. Do you have a report to show total memeory and used memory in SCOM like this disk free space? I will love it 🙂

    Thank you so much.

  4. Huy Nguyen

    This is a very nice report but it takes forever to run in my environment as the Select group of computer list is limited to the following: All Computers, SQL Computers, SQL 2000 Computers, SQL 2005 Replication Computers, SQL 2005 Computers, HP Computers Group, SQL 2008 Replication Computers, and SQL 2008 Computers. Is there a way to modify this so it will allow me to select my custom groups and the Windows 2000/3003/2008 computer groups? Is anyone else having this problem or is it just me? Thanks!

  5. Ian Blyth

    Hi

    Cleber – Vitaly did something like this at the MMS. I need to spend some time on it though as his demo was quite long and complex.

    Huy – when I tried it on All Computers with 395 servers it would time out sometimes. It can take time to run. I just reran it. It seems that to simplify it Ziemek has only allowed groups with Computers in the name. So if you want to create specific groups to run this report you need to ensure that the word Computers is in the name.

    As Ziemek has provide the XML you could look at modifying it! The line in the XML is

    SELECT FullName, DisplayName FROM OperationsManagerDW.dbo.vManagedEntity with (nolock) where Path is null and FullName not like ‘%:%’ and DisplayName like ‘%Computers%’

    As well as looking for computers it is looking for all objects which deson’t contain :

    Ian

  6. Huy Nguyen

    Hi Ian,

    Thanks for responding to my post. I modified the XML to include %Computer% and now all of my groups are now selectable from the report but the report comes up empty. I’ve tried this on several custom groups and got the same result. I explicitly added a couple of servers to my custom group but still not having any luck generating the report. The empty report would contain the Computers group UINameSpacecab725xxxxxxxxxxxx.Group instead of the actual group name. Have you seen this before with your custom groups? Thanks!

    Huy

    • Eric

      Did anyone ever figure the last post out??? I am having the same issue with custom groups, getting empty report with UINameSpacecab725xxxxxxxxxxxx.Group ??
      Thanks

  7. amy

    Hi Ian
    I have run the “sql query for disk space” and get results for any day before 0199 if I run this query on any date after this it does not bring back any results, any one any ideas?
    I do not seem to be able to run any disk reports at the moment although I do have results in the Monitoring of the SCOM console

  8. Matt Martin

    I’ve been running Ziemek’s MP free disk report via reporting schedule everyday for a month. Perfect when send via email. Still don’t understand how MS could release SCOM without this basic report.

    The problem now is somewhere between 250 and 300 agent installs the report times out now. I don’t have SQL background, so when looking at the query I don’t get very far. I’m running SCOM sp1. Nothing on the system was changed other than adding agents.

    Original I modified the xml version to include groups with the word Server rather than Computers. Thinking that over time this caused a problem I deleted my version and used the sealed mp, no luck. I then ran it manually against “test computers” group with a couple server in the group, still no luck.

    Anyone have the same problem? Better yet anyone find a solution?

  9. Mike

    I installed the MP several times..from the mp file and from the xml file…I don’t get the ‘Board’ group in my reports view..so there is no report to run, though the MP shows up in Management Packs under Administration. What am I doing wrong? We are running SP1. Our DW db has the default name ‘OperationsManagerDW’. I tried changing this name in the XML file, saving it and importing it..didn’t help (not that I know what to change or if I should be changing anything. If there are more steps to get this working than simply importing the MP – please help!!

  10. WK

    Hi,
    I’ve installed the MP from Ziemeks yesterday.
    The problem is, my free space is not displaying correctly in the report any more.

    Yesterday when I’ve tested it it was fine, but now it’s displaying the original values from yesterday.

    The free space did change since yesterday.

    I’ve I look at the free space using the default performance reports I see the correct space.
    It is as if the report is not updated correctly.

    The DateTime of the reports are old as well (last night) – The data did change before the last date time on the report.

    It is truely a great report, and I would love to use it in future!

    The server that it’s displaying incorrectly is a windows 2008 R2 server.
    I’m using SCOM 2007 R2.

    I ran the SQL script on the SQL warehouse – it is giving me the same incorrect values.

    Please help…

